As Kansas City begins reopening, the local government is requiring every church who wishes to provide services to turn in when asked a detailed list of every person who enters their building for services, including name, phone number and address, so city officials can use it for surveillance and tracking purposes. Failure to comply can result in up to 6 month in jail and the Church being completely shut down.
UPDATE #1 We have an update to this story here “Kansas City Mayor Denies ‘Church Registrations’- But We Have The Receipts”
This tyrannical and unjust law is part of the “10/10/10 rule” that Kansas City will begin operating under. According to the FAQ website released by the city:
“The 10/10/10 rule specifies that these businesses must limit the number of individuals on-site (inclusive of employees and customers) to no more than 10 percent of building occupancy or 10 people (whichever is larger), and record the names, contact information, and approximate entry/exit time of all customers who are on premises for more than 10 minutes.
In-person religious gatherings (including weddings and funerals) may resume, subject to the 10/10/10 rule (if held inside) or limited to 50 people outside, provided social distancing precautions are followed and event organizers maintain records of all attendees.”
The order further stipulates that by recording people’s names, businesses and churches will enable the Kansas City Health Department “to more quickly trace, test, and isolate individuals who may have been exposed to COVID-19 if an employee or customer had the virus at the time they frequented the business.” If an attendee or member does not want to give this information to city officials, the church is to refuse them entry.
Violations of any provision of this order results in steep penalties. According to the government’s announcement, failing to comply “constitutes an imminent threat, creates an immediate menace to public health, and shall be considered a violation of Section 50-155 of the City’s Code of Ordinances.”
The penalty for violating Section 50-155 is “punished by a fine of not less than $25.00 and not more than $500.00, or by imprisonment in the municipal penal correctional institution for a period of time not less than one day and not more than six months.”